Highs and Lows

Happy Thanksgiving everyone! I hope you all aren’t out there trampling people for tv’s today; but if you are, best of luck. I enjoyed a nice Thanksgiving at home in Clark for once and after a family wedding on Saturday I’ll be headed back to Ft. Worth. I’m looking forward to spending some time getting to know my new city.

It’s hard to believe another year has come to an end and I’m writing another year end blog. I had a solid week in Naples finishing T30 to finish out the year. I ended up 53 on the money list with a scoring average of 71.553 and 3 top tens. I haven’t sat down to really dig into my stats yet but when I do I’m sure I’ll find areas that improved and areas that will be of focus next year. In the meantime, It was fun to sit back and think about the best parts of this season, along with the times that taught me the most. I picked my 3 biggest moments of 2016 to share with you today.

1.) Singapore: After 2 seasons on tour I finally earned a spot to play in the HSBC in Singapore in February. This sticks out in my memory because the feeling of earning your way to play in those limited field events is always so satisfying. On top of that, it was one of the coolest places I had ever been, and somewhere I likely would never have gone if I didn’t play on the LPGA. I did not play well the first couple of rounds, but thankfully I should be back to play this year. 🙂

2.) Mid season slump: After a pretty solid first half of the year I hit a slump in late July thru early September. I made only 1 out of 4 cuts and finished in a tie for 44th in that event. It’s funny how this stretch of ugly golf is what sticks out in my mind the most. Throughout most of the year I feel I’m always right in it to play every weekend and have a good finish. I bounce back after missing a cut or having a bad round and I am always super happy and thankful for my job. However, during this time I realized that sometimes this “dream job” can be really REALLY hard. Although my game didn’t feel that bad I just wasn’t getting the ball in the hole and soon it felt as if everything was slipping away. I left France after missing the Evian cut by 1 shot and felt a sense of relief that the remaining events would be “no cut” events.

3.) Korea/Malaysia: I was happy to play in Korea this year, an event I had played only my rookie year. Malaysia was an event that I had originally wanted to take off because I always grinded out a bunch of 74’s and my caddie made more money than me. These courses both played very differently but my mindset and plan was the same: focus only on the process and let the score come. This is always my game plan but some weeks its just easier than others and these two weeks proved to be the epitome of what can happen when I really stick to that process. I finished T10 in Korea and two weeks later T7 in Malaysia. My best finish of the year on one of my least favorite golf courses. It’s funny what can happen when your attitude and mind is focused on what is possible and not on what has happened in the past.

I could probably write a list of 100 things I learned, enjoyed, and remember from this year but these definitely stick out in my mind the most. After 30 weeks on the road its time for a break from traveling and the golf course. Next year is a big year with at least 4 new LPGA events on the schedule and the Solheim Cup in Iowa. It will hopefully be a big year for me out there.

Happy Holidays! See you next year!

KK

 

img_4916

A little time at Disney before the final event in Naples.

img_4937

LPGA Girl’s Golf Junior Clinic in Naples.

img_4938

Matching as usual during the final event with Kris Tamulis.

img_4958

First day of off season spent on the boat in St. Pete thanks to these amazing friends! 🙂

Ricoh Women's British Open - Day One

From this years British Open at Woburn.

2016 Sime Darby LPGA - Day 2

From my best week of the year in Malaysia.  🙂

 

5 thoughts on “Highs and Lows

  1. Happy Thanksgiving, Kim! Luca and I follow you on the tour and even though he is 14 now (can you believe it?) and is going through all things puberty and cynical, he is incredibly impressed and inspired by your drive, your commitment, and your dedication to your craft. The ability to do well is one thing, the honesty to talk about when you were weak or frustrated or angry is another. And it’s the second that allows us to see just how much you’ve grown, how much you love this sport, and how much you are willing to share with everyone just what it means to be passionate about something. Passion is not something that is always fun, always beautiful, always joyful. It also means work and sometimes disappointment and always commitment. I am so proud that I can say that once upon a time Kim Kaufman was my student – but now I’m learning from her.

  2. Best of luck in 2017, isn’t it a truism that luck is the result of better practice and improved thinking? Would be great to see you on the Solheim Cup team!

  3. Kim, Congratulations on a year of progress, learning and accomplishment. It’s been a blast following you and seeing your American flag posted by your name in tournaments around the world. Your continued focus and dedication will lead to greater things, I’m convinced of it. Merry Christmas, Randy Derheim

  4. Kim you have many strong traits such as patience, a never quit attitude, a strong work ethic, and more but I think ur strongest is ur acceptance of what the reality of playing golf is. It can be the cruelest sport on earth with bounces that are totally unpredictable. U handle things good and bad very well and this will keep ur mind always under control during the very stressful moments. U have a long tour life ahead of u in my opinion. Have a great 2017.

Leave a Reply

