Asia 2016

Good morning from South Korea! We arrived in Incheon late last night from Tawain and I have to say I always look forward to coming to Korea because it is the first time all year where I can feel the seasons here are changing. The fall weather reminds me a lot of home at this time of year.

I’ve been doing a lot of traveling this past month but am still feeling good! I started this morning off with a great workout, some flight booking, my stats from last week, and a little grocery shopping. I’ll spend the rest of the afternoon trying to relax while getting organized and ready for the week ahead.

Last time I wrote I was in France and feeling pretty down about my game. The great thing about golf is that, although there are many low times, it will eventually be followed with some high times. Every roller coaster eventually comes back up. I’m happy to say I had a good week in Tawain and can feel my confidence coming back a bit. It has been a tough couple of months but we snuck inside the top 25 last week and I still felt I left a lot out there.

Before Taiwan I played in Beijing for the first time. I had a few reservations about coming to Beijing, but I actually enjoyed the week very much. We spent Wednesday afternoon climbing the Great Wall of China and it is probably in my top three of best things I have done throughout all my travels. It was an incredible view (smog free!) and an incredible workout. We climbed nearly 100 floors, and were absolutely exhausted; I can’t even imagine how they built 15,000 miles of it. I could still feel my calves three days later, but worth every step!

My play in China was a mix of bright spots and old habits. However, something clicked on Sunday and I shot a bogey free 7 under for my best round of the year. When you aren’t having your best week, the best thing to do is to use the last day or two to try and gain some momentum for the following week. It gives you a different purpose within the tournament you’re playing, and really can give you momentum a week later. I went to Tawain with some good memories on a course that sets up pretty well for me. We had a mix of great weather and absolutely terrible weather which lead to a great test of golf. Although I stood on the driving range on Friday (and Sunday) with rain blowing side ways in a 40 mph wind just waiting for the horn to blow, those bad weather days helped me climb the leaderboard.

Last year I sat here in Korea as first alternate and promised myself I would do everything I could to not be in that position again this year. I’m happy to report I earned my spot this year. It’s a good course, weather looks great, and the fans will be out in full force. With women’s golf at its absolute peak in Korea right now it’s definitely a fun spot to play. I will take the same approach as I did last week and hope for more good results.

Three more weeks here in Asia before I’m back on American soil, not that I’m counting. 😉

KK

cvus9448

Ready for our 14 hour flight!

img_4506

Starting up the wall.

img_4511

Halfway there…

img_4512

 

beijing

Pro am party in Beijing.

great-wall

Almost there 🙂

taiwan

Out to dinner in Taipei, Taiwan.

img_4644

Our favorite pizza maker and my number one fan in Taiwan! See you next year, Stanley. 🙂

 

 

6 thoughts on “Asia 2016

  1. Kim, play your best on your 3 week Tour in China. In my past comments I have given constructive feedback in hope of helping you to fully realise your potential on the LPGA. In Consistency and in Course Management is where your success lies. Eric.

  2. Great update Kim! I just returned from Missouri where I was a volunteer driver for the terrific women’s golf team. I’m inspired by you and your journey and their abilities too!

  3. Faithful followers, Lynn and I fail as media socialites. However, two top tens in three weeks, and achieving the benchmark 7 figure career earning mark in three short years has to make you and your growing number of followers proud…and a sense of relief to rank #40 on the CME.

    The same feeling after nine hours in labor, with the staff in delivery chanting, “push, push” and then being told you have twins. Too early to be thinking Solheim Cup team. Or is it ?

    Keep on the hot streak in Asia…no doubles, and finally get back to the states to veg out on Thanksgiving dinner and a month of rest. You’ve missed very little since the Evian, except for a thousand negative political ads.

Leave a Reply

