Crunch Time

Hello everyone and Happy New Year! It’s hard to believe we are in the third week of the new year and the LPGA season is starting next week! Luckily I have found time to relax, spend time with friends and family, work on my game, and, of course, do some traveling these past two months. I leave for the Pure Silk Championship on Monday in the Bahamas but thought I would check in with everyone to let you know what I’ve been doing and tell you what is coming up.

I started the off season doing more traveling than I would have liked, but when you aren’t lugging that golf bag thru the airport it all just seems so much easier. I went and visited friends in Austin and Ft. Worth and am happy to announce that I will be relocating next fall to Ft. Worth. While I have loved my time in Florida and think it was the absolute best place for me to spend my first three years out of college, it is time for me to move on. While I know I can’t live in South Dakota, becuase, you know, its probably -12 right now, I can live in Texas and it is as close as I can get to feeling like home.  I have so many of my best friends there and being close to the Texas Tech family is a big draw.  Logistically it is centrally located in the U.S. and it doesn’t get much better than the DFW airport; direct flights nearly everywhere including Sioux Falls. I’m joining a fantastic golf course that I think can play a big role in improving my game with both bermuda and bent grass greens. (FYI: I am not going to miss those sand based bermuda ranges. I prefer to practice my fairway and bunker shots separately.) I can also drive over to Lubbock and catch a football game if I am lucky enough to be home in the fall. I will dearly miss some extremely good friends I have made in Florida, but I know I will be happier in Ft. Worth.

I spent the Christmas holiday at home in Clark and did a whole bunch of nothing. My goal over break was to take some good blog photos but a photo of me and the family fighting over the best cookies and playing cards isn’t exactly riveting. While it may not have been an instagram worthy holiday I could’t think of a better place to spend a week away from the golf course and the craziness that will begin again this coming week.

I’m currently on a flight from Phoenix to Orlando. I spent the past week in Phoenix first at a Vision54 training camp for three days, and then two days working with my coach. I was first exposed to Vision54 in college and have used it to work on my mental game quite often from then on. I have a couple really good friends that are very into it and have always bounced ideas off of them but decided it was time that I finally go and do the entire course myself. I’m really excited to add these coaches to my team and equally excited to see it pay off this year.

Since I was already in Phoenix, Todd decided it was easier to just come there and do a couple days of fine tuning before the first event. We put in some long days but got a lot of things done. Everything is always a bit rusty when first coming back, but after this 5 day golf bootcamp I think I am officially ready to go.

I have to thank all of my sponsors for sticking with me for 2016. Sutton Bay, Metalloid, Sanford Health, Callaway, Titleist, Footjoy, and Animo clothing. I truly couldn’t do this without all of your help!

I hope everyone is excited to follow along this season! If you have a cell phone and don’t have the LPGA app, you need to get it! If you live in the stone age, I’m sorry, but you can still follow along on the LPGA website. 😉  I also started an instagram account over break to help share my journey through photos: @KimKaufmanGolf. This is the same as my Twitter account, so feel free to follow either!
Upcoming travel: Bahamas, Ocala, FL, Australia, Thailand, Singapore.

 

Happy New Year!

KK

IMG_1264

This kid was cracking me up.

IMG_1267

Bahamas trip for the LPGA.

IMG_1362

The whole crew!

IMG_1315

Yeah, these pigs are swimming.

IMG_1340

Yoga in Austin is like eating Mexican food in Mexico.

IMG_1370

Joe T. Garcia’s with the best crew ever…

IMG_1461

I did find some snow over break eventually..

IMG_1529

Fun dinners in Winter Park. 🙂

IMG_1542

Coach Emily even made a pit stop in Orlando this offseason. :))

17 thoughts on “Crunch Time

  1. I am so proud of you for living your dream. There are not many like you who have the courage and the support you need to travel the world, play golf, do something you really and truly love. Very proud of my dreamer. And very honored to be able to watch you grow through this journey.

    Keep writing. You have incredible golf skills, but for me, perhaps even more importantly, you have an incredible voice. Keep sharing and inspiring us all.

  2. Kim, I think moving to Ft. Worth is a good move…. Home of two pretty good golfers, Hogan and Nelson. Plus, you can be in Raiderland in a one hour flight.

  3. Keep working hard kiddo. Been a big fan since I caddied for your group at Galloway National this past summer. Good luck in 2016.

  4. Best of luck this year Kim…enjoy yourself. Looking forward to seeing you in Calgary for the Canadian Open this year!

  5. I’m so excited for this 2016 year to watch you again play golf again, and maybe I will make it to Phoenix again this year to watch you. That was the highlight of my year in 2015 to following you on the course. So Kim, Good luck.

  6. So cool you got to rest and do some things that make you happy before your focus is on your golf again, I also would like to say how much I enjoyed getting to know you a little through yoga, enjoy your tour, and pop in to see us if you are in town:)

  7. Best of success during the coming year Kim 🙂 I’m sure you’ll do well. Plus you have the very best coach and all around great guy in Todd Kolb 🙂 The sky is the limit

  8. Glad you had a good time while you were off. Missed ya when you were home in Clark. Good luck in the 2016 year and I will keep cheering you on here in Clark along with everyone else. Safe travels and again GOOD LUCK. Dala

  9. Hey Kim-thanks for the update. We’ll be following you here in SF as well. It makes for exciting talk at the water cooler here at the office. Good luck for 2016!

  10. GOOD LUCK THIS YEAR KIM!! I think this is going to be a great year for you. I hope to see you in tourn. on Golf Channel or maybe in person if you do the Atl. City tourn. Make a lot of birdies…your friend from Allentown, PA Brian

    On Wed, Jan 20, 2016 at 7:14 PM, KimKaufmanGolf wrote:

    > KimKaufmanGolf posted: “Hello everyone and Happy New Year! It’s hard to > believe we are in the third week of the new year and the LPGA season is > starting next week! Luckily I have found time to relax, spend time with > friends and family, work on my game, and, of course, do some tr” >

Leave a Reply

