Dallas 2.0

Hello everyone.  I know it has been a few weeks since my last post but we finally have an off week here so I have a little time to catch you all up on whats been going on.  After leaving the Masters I headed to Hawaii and once again wondered why people vacation there. Honestly, can somebody tell me how they enjoy playing golf in 40 mph wind every day? I felt like I was going into battle. We might as well have the Lotte Championship in Lubbock. I mean, it even has a nice ring to it.  Ok, I won’t keep complaining, I know there are probably 85,000 worse places in the world I could go for work. I did play well on Thursday and Friday, but once again struggled on the weekend.  I feel this has been a bit of a trend for me so my focus after Hawaii was for stronger finishes once I made the cut.

I took the red eye Saturday night from Honolulu to San Francisco via L.A. After spending my two hour layover in L.A. sleeping on my purse on the floor of LAX I made a promise to myself I would never do that short of a red eye again.  Apparently my tolerance for red eyes stops at age 22.  Fortunately, I did get to San Fran at a decent time on Sunday so I met up with my friend, Marissa Steen, and we did a little sightseeing.  We visited Fisherman’s Wharf, Ghiradelli Square, and OF COURSE went and creeped outside of the “Full House” house.  Highlight of our week for sure.

We played Lake Merced in 55-60 degree weather all week and it felt like heaven! The course was tough with tight lines off the tee and some difficult greens.  I unfortnately felt pretty ill all week but managed to play a solid day one and two. Although my Sunday plus 2 wasn’t fantastic, I felt my weekend play was moving in the right direction.  It was one of my top three finishes this year.  Both of my parents came out to watch but felt they probably should have stayed home where it was warmer.  They didn’t enjoy the weather as much as me. 🙂

Our final event in this last stretch was in Dallas, and I know everyone knows that Dallas is where it all started last year and will probably always be a special event for me. This is also the point in the year where I will now have played every event/course on the schedule (excluding majors and any venues that have changed).  Dallas had received an uncommon amount of rain the week prior and therefore the course played completely different.  I struck the ball well but my putting really let me down.  After putting really well in San Francisco it was a bit frustrating to see it regress.  I mentioned a couple blogs ago that I did a complete putting overhaul after the ANA, and while I am working hard to groove in everything, sometimes when you take two steps forward you take one step back.  While I missed the cut it was still an awesome week because I had so many great people come to Dallas to see me.  I was so thankful to have good friends Dave and Marlys Moritz drive all the way from Clark to watch me. The legendary Marsha Sharp (coach of the 1991 National Champion Lady Raiders Basketball team, GUNS UP!!), along with one of my college professors Diane Nichols and a couple of their friends. One of my college classmates and friends who is making it a tradition to come watch every year. 🙂   Finally, one of my very best friends, Kelsy Hope, along with her husband and his whole family.  Not only did I love coming back to a place where I played so well, but I absolutely love seeing all these people.  I truly met some of the best people in my life at Texas Tech. Thank you to everyone who came out to see me!

I left Dallas Sunday afternoon with a group of about 15 girls to head to Memphis, TN for a charity event called the Pink Ribbon Open.  Fedex graciously flew us on one of their planes and we arrived just in time for the dinner and live auction.  We played 18 this morning with a group of amateurs at TPC in Memphis and had a great time raising money for breast cancer awareness.  This is part of my job that I think I am really going to love.

I am also going to love sleeping in my own bed tonight. I will get in late, wait for my coach to arrive and we will head to Lake Mary for a couple days of good work.  We will attack the putting again this week and tune up anything else that needs it.  Our next event will be next week in Kingsmill.

May the 4th be with you,

KK

IMG_0334

Wild sea turtles in Hawaii.  Pretty cool!

IMG_0371

Ok, this was a pretty great spot that we did yoga from, even if the wind did blow our mats around…

IMG_0409

Cable car on the 18th tee in San Fran (with Marissa Steen and Laura Diaz)

IMG_0398

Swinging Skirts in San Fransisco wins for best tee sign art.  Fun stuff everywhere!

IMG_0413

Happy Birthday to Laura Diaz! And a big thanks to her friends who had us out for the most food I have every consumed in a night.

IMG_0421

Dave and Marlys Moritz and I at the North Texas Shootout in Dallas. 🙂

IMG_0427

Kelsy Hope and I at dinner in Dallas.. one of the best people in my life. :))

IMG_0434

The whole Hope clan!  Thanks to all for coming out and for taking me to dinner!

IMG_0423

This is why I love Texas.  BBQ done right! If ever in town, check out Hard Eight. You won’t be disappointed.

IMG_0448

Lady Antebellum concert Saturday night in Dallas.  You can still have some fun when you miss the cut 😉

IMG_0458

If only FedEx wanted to fly us everywhere….

IMG_0459

Had to post this cutie.  British Lap Puppy they auctioned off for 3500 dollars last night.  That’s only about 3400 over my budget I would say..

3 thoughts on “Dallas 2.0

  1. Loved watching you in Dallas. Wow what a beautiful golf swing!! So glad I got to meet you. I think you maybe Diane’s all time favorite student!! We will be pulling for you all season!

  2. Hey Kim,
    Glad to hear the optimism in your missive, as it is an important part of who you are. Maybe things aren’t going exactly to plan, but in the long run it will all help you on that day when you go into a Sunday leading the pack. I expect that day won’t be far away too. When I listen to Judy Rankin on the telecasts she has gotten behind you and is very complimentary, which tells you a lot. Jerry Foltz also.

    I’m looking forward to seeing you play at the Shop Rite Classic in a few weeks, and hope that I can manage to walk with you inside the ropes carrying the standard. I find you an exciting player to watch, and they don’t put you on TV often enough.

    For the WPGA at Westchester CC I’ll be doing contestant transportation, and who knows, maybe I’ll get to drive you around.

    Swing well, long and straight.

    Marie

Leave a Reply

