Masters Inspiration

Happy Masters week everyone!  While I am on my way to my own LPGA event in Hawaii, I’m still spending most of my day updating the Masters leaderboard.  I took my first trip to Augusta National this year for Wednesday’s practice round and par 3 contest, and Thursday’s opening rounds.  I’m not going to spend all day telling you how amazing it was, but I will say that I think it will be my new tradition.

Besides spending a few days at the Masters, I have also played events in Carlsbad, CA and Palm Springs, CA since my last blog.  Carlsbad wasn’t as great as my week in Phoenix, but after a Friday 69 to make the cut on the number, I was more pumped than when I was leading the Founder’s Cup.  Funny how golf can be that way.  I left Carlsbad frustrated after a slow weekend and headed to Mission Hills for the first major of the year.  Formerly the Kraft Nabisco and now the ANA Inspiration, this would be my first time playing the LPGA’s first major.

I don’t like dwelling on negative weeks, so I’ll just say that I learned you can’t spend your day playing out of the rough and missing three footers at a major.  You aren’t going to score very well.  End story.  Thankfully, my coach was present in Palm Springs and we spent the weekend fine tuning a few swing flaws and working on some major putting changes.  I’ve continued to put in a lot of reps on the practice green and am hoping I feel confident with the changes by the time the first round comes in Hawaii this week.

After three weeks on the road, I was more than ready to come home for a few days.  I took the red eye out of L.A. on Sunday night and was home by 6 am Monday morning.  Tuesday was spent in Georgia practicing with my former assistant coach at Texas Tech, Emily Kuhfeld, and then two days at Augusta.  I put in a good days work at the course on Friday and am now on my way to Hawaii this morning.  An off week has never gone faster.

If you recall from last year, the Lotte Championship in Hawaii was my first event, so I’m excited to go back to a familiar place and a course I know.  I was so excited to be there last year and everything felt like it was on such a big scale compared to the Symetra tour.  I know it will all fee a lot more comfortable this year, but will also bring back some great memories from where it all started.  I’m looking forward to a great three week stretch!

Here’s to safe travels for me today and an exciting Masters finish on Sunday!

KK

IMG_0290

Third hole at Aviara in Carlsbad, CA.

IMG_0301

Great view of Palm Springs from our Pro Am Party.

IMG_0316

My uncle Duane made the whole three week stretch with me.  He’s in the lead for fan of the year 🙂

IMG_0310

Can’t believe this guy is almost taller than me.  So glad the whole Kolb family was out for the week in Palm Springs. (with Justin Kolb)

IMG_0306

Having some fun with Symetra tour friend Wei Ling Hsu.

3 thoughts on “Masters Inspiration

  1. Glad to hear you speaking with such a positive attitude, Kim. You are doing very well playing, and things will progress as they should. One day you will end the tournaments with your name on top. Maybe it will be when I’m there to enjoy the moment with you. Keep your head down and your thoughts loose!

Leave a Reply

