Two Thousand and Fifteen!

It’s been awhile since my last post, but it feels like just yesterday.  Welcome to 2015! It’s been exactly 2 months since my last competitive round and I can say that it is definitly time to get the season started again.

Even though I had no tournaments in over 8 weeks, I still found myself spending plenty of time in the air.  I was lucky to spend a week in Austin, TX in early December to see one of my best college friends get married (Congrats Ros and C!).  I always love going back to Texas and as much as I hate to admit it, Austin is truly the coolest city.  After Austin I headed up north and spent three weeks between Sioux Falls and Clark catching up with friends and family and enjoying some down time.  While I love being home, needless to say after 3 weeks of family bonding every day I was ready to get back to Florida where I had more to look forward to than what book I was going to finish each day and who was on Ellen.

Since I have been back home in Florida I have been putting in full days of practice.  I’ve been making a few swing changes and working on sharpening up my short game.  It’s amazing how rusty you can get after just three weeks off.  Frustrating for a professional golfer to say the least!

I have also been doing a lot of yoga here in Florida.  When I was in Austin I was forced into going to a hot yoga class (whatever the bride wants ;), but I actually ended up absolutely loving it!  I was so excited to come back to Florida and find a studio to practice in.  I’ve been going at least three time a week to various classes at Guruv Yoga and am planning to find studios on the road where I can go to keep practicing.  While it is a great exercise for golf, I am definitely not looking at it from a golf perspective, but rather an outlet to get away from golf.  All athletes talk about the importance of having a balance in life between their sport and the rest of their life; I think yoga will be that hobby that keeps my life balanced.  That is, if it doesn’t kill me first.  1 hour and 40 minutes of yoga in a 98 degree room last night nearly did me in.

I am probably most excited to announce that I will be adding some new sponsors this year.  Like last year, I will partner with Callaway, Titleist, Footjoy, and Sutton Bay. However, I will be adding a new clothing sponsor in Animo. Animo is notorious as a riding company out of Italy, and is just starting in the golf market.  I will also be partnering with a company out of Michigan called Metalloid.  My partnership with Metalloid came out of a conversation I had on a plane with one of the owners who just happened to be seated next to me.  It’s a crazy life; and one of the things I like most about this life is all the people you cross paths with and all the connections you make.  I’m very excited to welcome both Metalloid and Animo to my team. 🙂

I know there are a lot of people out there patiently waiting the start of the season in Ocala next week so they have some live scoring to watch when it’s a slow day at the office.  If you’re one of those people, you’ll be happy to know that I will play 4 out of the next 5 weeks.  Ocala is this coming week, followed by the Bahamas, a week off, Australia, and then Thailand.  I will NOT play in Singapore the week after Thailand.  That is a limited field event (just like the Asia events in the fall) and I missed entry by 6 spots.  I also still get a lot of questions regarding my caddie, so I can happily report that I will still have Worth on the bag.  Same as last year, I’m not much for change.

Finally, as I did last year, I always like to post my season goals.  I know a lot of people are very private about their goals, but I have three thoughts regarding goals. 1) Keep them simple and to the point.  2) Sharing my goals is truly the best way for ya’ll to see inside my head; to know what I’m thinking and how big I’m thinking.  3) If I share my goals with the world, I think I’m much more likely to achieve them (I think it’s actually a proven fact).   It’s like you all are holding me accountable.  So here it goes:

Performance goals:

1.) Top 40 on the LPGA money list

2.) Cuts made at %75 or higher

3.) Solheim Cup team member

Statistical goals:

1.) Strokes Gained Putting in the positives overall

2.) Up and Down percentage – 70% or higher

3.) Top ten in GIR at the end of the year.

That’s all I got for now.  It’s time to get this season started!  I’m finally not a rookie and I get the entire year to try and make some noise out there.  If any of you get a chance to come out and watch this year, please let me know! I’d love to see you all!

Happy New Year!

KK

image1

Thanksgiving with some great friends in New Smyrna Beach, FL.  Thanks to the Truslows for having us all over!

image2

December wedding in Austin.  Rosayln in the middle surround by her girls. 🙂

image3

Marissa Steen and I got to play Mountain Lake with our host family from Lake Wales last week.  Such an awesome experience.  Thank you David, Mieke, Kyle, and Gabby!

image4

Beach weekend in New Smyrna before the season started.  This is how I know I could live in Florida forever.

7 thoughts on “Two Thousand and Fifteen!

  1. Best of luck this year Kim…hope you reach all your goals. Hoping to get to see you again in Canada! Happy New Year to you too, now go get ’em!

  2. Kim, Love the update and goals for 2015. One of my goals is to see you play in person! I’ve weathered my own layoff having broken my wrist in August and having surgery in December to remove my “hook of the hamate.” Don’t break that bone! Best to you as you begin what I’m sure will be a remarkable year.

  3. Kim…you are truly an inspiration and I’ll be pulling mightily for you to achieve your goals–goals I think you can attain. Never get down on yourself…at the end of the race, you will be right there. As a fellow Texas Tech alum, I bid you a fond “push” to start the season and a gracious wish for success.

Leave a Reply

