A First Time for Everything

I’m driving back from Toledo today and know I need to give everyone an update on these last couple of weeks. I’ve only played two events since my last post, but I feel like I have been on the road for a month. Going to Europe and back for one event was pretty grueling. Not to mention when you miss your flight out of England. That’s a story for another day, though.

So I played in my first British Open, which was also my first major, last week at Royal Birkdale. The whole experience was pretty incredible. There were so many “firsts” that week. My first trip to Europe, first major, first time playing true links golf, a practice round with world #1 Stacey Lewis, and walking inside the ropes with Sunday’s final group of Inbee Park and Suzanne Petterson. I finished at +10 and missed the cut by four shots. It wasn’t stellar play, but there were a lot of positives that I took away from the week. My sand play and overall short game was very good, I just needed to find the fairway more. Even for a straight ball striker it’s a difficult task when each fairway is about 4 yards wide.

The tournament was held in Southport, but I actually stayed in Liverpool, home of the Rolling Stones. Just kidding, home of the Beatles!! I obviously had a couple days on the weekend to do some sightseeing and took full advantage. There was a train station pretty close to my hotel so I took the train into central Liverpool. I checked out the Beatles History Museum, Liverpool Museum, Liverpool One shopping center (of course) and the Cavern Club. The Cavern Club was by far the coolest place I went. This is the club where the Beatles started. It’s a small, underground room maybe ten yards wide and very long with the stage at the front. I went in there at around noon on Saturday, but you couldn’t tell if it was noon or midnight. I think it was about 110 degrees down there, and the band had been performing long before I arrived. Such a cool place with an awesome vibe. I posted a good picture below.

I could talk a lot about my trip to England, but I also played in Toledo and just finished up yesterday. There were a lot of positives in Toledo as well. I made the cut (I know, its been awhile), had a great bogey free Saturday 67, and felt really good about my putting. On the not so positive side, I didn’t have the greatest day on Sunday and thus finished T-42. I felt I was in a position on Saturday to finish much higher, but it is what it is. With the T-42 finish I made a pretty small check and once again fell a couple spots on the money list. My big goal is to play in Asia at the end of the year, which is achieved by staying in the top 60 (roughly) on the money list. I’m currently 72. As hard as it is, my goal for the next 4 events in August is to not think about the money list at all, but to only focus on the shot in front of me. So much harder than it sounds!! My type-A personality gets in the way, but I will try my hardest. ☺

I have a couple weeks off at home now. I will as usual spend time in Clark, Sioux Falls, and Sutton Bay. I am also helping out at the Watertown Fireman’s charity event this weekend and playing in the Boys of Summer Cup next weekend in Sioux Falls. They are both fun events that I am really looking forward to.

Enjoy all the photos and thank you to everyone for your continued support and for following my career. 🙂

KK

IMG_0636

Hole #7 Par 3

 

IMG_0639 IMG_0643

Central Liverpool

IMG_0650 IMG_0661

Three buildings in central Liverpool known as the “Three Graces”

IMG_0668

I spent a little time down at the beach by my hotel.

IMG_0686

The crowd outside the Cavern Club.  I think Beatlemania is still alive.

IMG_0691

 

Inside the Cavern Club

IMG_0709

 

My dad and I at the Marathon Classic in Toledo.

 

 

7 thoughts on “A First Time for Everything

  1. Hi Kim,
    Awesome way to visit the US and the world!! We kept track of you with very spotty cell service while riding the Beartooth highway near Redlodge , Montana. 1100 miles on the Harley in 3 days. 😁 Hopefully it will cool off while you’re in SD! Judy and Reid

  2. Your doing do many great things!! We are all so proud of you!! You are such a great role model for all young golfers. Keep it going!

  3. Keep up the hard work, Kim…you’ve got what it takes to be great on the LPGA, so lead the charge! I’m a fellow Red Raider so you’ve got my, and my family’s, full support!

  4. It is exciting to read about your journey on the LPGA. Max and I are rooting for you each time you tee it up.

Leave a Reply

