It’s a journey….

Just over two weeks ago I wrote a blog summarizing what was probably my best week on the course to date.  Two weeks later, instead of catching a plane back to Orlando I have finally arrived at a hotel in Mobile where I’ll spend the night after missing my first ever professional cut.  I drove here from Williamsburg, VA but made a nice pit stop in Raleigh, NC yesterday to watch the Texas Tech men’s golf team play their final round of the NCAA Regional tournament.  I couldn’t have thought of a better way to spend my weekend after missing a cut than watching some good friends try and make it to the National Championship.  Although they came up a few shots short of overtaking Florida State, they fought hard all the way until the end.  I wish them all the best and know without a doubt they will be back in contention again next year.  Once a Red Raider, always a Red Raider.

Thinking about my own play the last two weeks it has been less than ideal. Sometimes the hardest week to play is the week right after a successful tournament.  The Symetra event in Greenwood was definitely a “down” week.  In hindsight, it may have been a good week to take off, but when you’re playing well I figured it doesn’t hurt to just keep playing.  I had a really great host family and found that I absolutely love South Carolina.  When you can take a relaxing pontoon trip down the river for dinner, I’m sold.  I haven’t spent a ton of time in the Carolinas, but every time I go I like it more and more.  It was what I hope to be my final Symetra event and the tour staff and players were all very kind in bidding me farewell.

This past week at Kingsmill I experienced my first ever missed cut.  I fought it out until the end, but came up two shots short.  This may be my first missed cut, but it definitely won’t be my last. I hit the ball super well, just couldn’t make a two footer.  Literally.  I actually four putted from 6 feet on Friday.  Just like I can’t control the leader board when I’m trying to win a tournament, I can’t control it when I am trying to just make a cut.  I played the best I could last week and it wasn’t quite good enough to play on the weekend.  Instead I got to go see the men’s team play and took my time on the 14 hour drive to Mobile, AL.  What I’m really trying to get at here is that its not the end of the world.  I spent Friday night enjoying a delicious meal with my host family in Williamsburg; I wasn’t on suicide watch.  I am playing golf to try and win tournaments and earn a living, but I’m also just enjoying life as well.  No round or tournament is life or death, a career is defined over years and years of play, not just one round.  I hope that thru this blog and me always sharing my thoughts that everyone can understand this mentality that I would argue most players have.  Playing on any tour is truly a journey and not a destination.

With that being said, hooray for a new week!  We are playing on the gulf coast in Mobile, AL this week on the Robert Trent Jones golf trail.  I am most looking forward to having my mom and sister in town for the week.  They will hopefully bring me a little luck and do my laundry. 🙂

Here’s to a new week!

KK

 

Image

My biggest fan in Greenwood!  Granddaughter, Jaeda, of my hosts David and Carol. 🙂

Image

The 18th at Kingsmill. Absolutely beautiful.

IMG_0995

Great shot of me on Thursday. (Thanks Vickie Cox for the photos!)

 

 

8 thoughts on “It’s a journey….

  1. We’re proud of you Kim. Glad you are taking time to enjoy the little moments as well as the big ones. We’ll keep watching and cheering from SD!

  2. Great perspective! I just keep enjoying all of the beautiful places you are playing! Have a great week! Judy

  3. Good job Kimmy. You have a great attitude and it will take you far . Proud of you. We will be cheering you on this week. Love you, Linda

  4. Kim, your last blog post shows real maturity and big picture understanding. You are on a journey if many steps. Keep the attitude you have and continued success will follow!

  5. Keep up your good attitude and you will do great. Enjoy your blogs! Good Luck! We are pulling for you and wish you much success in your on going journey! The Hulschers

Leave a Reply

