Hawaii

Hi, everyone! I’ve made it back from Hawaii on the red-eye Saturday night and am now in Sarasota for a Symetra event.  These last two weeks have flown by but I couldn’t have asked for a better start to my LPGA career in Hawaii.  After battling the winds for 7 straight days I finished T42.  I’m not sure if that wind was typical for Hawaii, but if it is we can just move the LOTTE to Lubbock next year and host it at the Rawls course. Overall, I was happy with my play the first two days and knew I had things I could improve on from the last two days.  I was fortunate to be paired with Lydia Ko the last two days which was probably the best part of the experience for me. I played with her and realized that I could play with one of the best in the world.  It was great to see thats she made mistakes and bogeys just as I did.  Her demeanor on the course is so great and something every aspiring player could learn from.

This was my first trip to Hawaii and unfortunately I didn’t get to see much of the fun sites because I was pretty sick the first half of the week.  The traveling, jet lag, and practice finally caught up to me and by Tuesday I was stuck at the condo while everyone else was swimming with sea turtles.  Speaking of the condo, while the top players in the event enjoyed rooms at the resorts, us Symetra tour players gladly packed 5 players and a caddie into a two bedroom condo one exit down.  If you were willing to buy an air mattress and sleep on the floor, you were welcomed to stay.  For 23 dollars a night, we all thought we had the best deal of the week.  Although it wasn’t very glamorous, we had a very good time in the house last week.

The question I’ve been asked most frequently is the biggest difference between LPGA and Symetra.  While ignoring the fact that we were in Hawaii, it is honestly a lot of the material things that make the LPGA seem like such a different tour.  It’s the staff bags and caddies, tee signs surrounding all the tees, and ropes lining the fairways.  We get player dining every day for breakfast and lunch, and we have full use of the locker room where you can leave your clubs for the night and a locker which will be stacked with balls and gloves from whichever brand you are affiliated with.  On the playing side, the scores are much tighter.  There isn’t really a drop off as there sometimes can be in college and on the Symetra tour.  In other words, you aren’t going to get to have an “off” day and make the cut.

While it is a lot of fun to talk about playing well in Hawaii, I am now in Sarasota, FL for a Symetra event and that is where my focus will be.  Next week, however, I will head west to Dallas and play in the LPGA again.  Next week will be a big week for me because after Dallas the LPGA will reshuffle our priority numbers based on the money list.  If I can shuffle high enough my goal will be to start playing more on the LPGA than on the Symetra tour.  There are so many variables in deciding which path to take, so I’m trying to continue taking it one week at a time.  I am excited to go to Dallas though because I know that I will be able to find some Tech fans in Dallas! I will fly in Monday morning and leave Sunday night.  Tournament starts on Thursday and as always you can follow along on LPGA.com or catch some of the action on the Golf Channel.

Thank you to everyone who followed so closely last week.  I appreciate all the support and am excited about these next few weeks!

KK

IMG_0292

The North Shore, site of the filming of the Hunger Games!

 

IMG_0302

Hole 12, Ko Olina Golf Club

IMG_0304

The 18 at Ko Olina.  Beautiful finishing hole.

IMG_0313

 

USS Arizona Memorial at Pearl Harbor

IMG_0322

 

 

IMG_0331

Rays vs Twins last night in Tampa.  Some free tickets thanks to our Symetra media guy!

8 thoughts on “Hawaii

    • Nice job, it was again fun to follow. You’re representing Clark and South Dakota nicely. Thanks for the update on your postings-always fun to read. Also, a shout out to your aunt Linda-Class of 81 rules, haha.

  1. Thanks for the updates–and the pictures from Hawaii–enjoyed those–we’re all rooting for you back home–keep up the good work!!!!

  2. Thanks, Kim, for sharing your experiences….and successes ! I’ll look for you at Sara Bay this weekend.. Cheers !!

    Dillon

  3. Kim, congrats and the Headlee clan in Sioux Falls will be cheering for you! Go 605!
    Jason, Val, Jacob, Hunter , Ethan, and Ben Headlee

  4. Hi Kimmy

    Outstanding golf in Dallas today. You are in the hunt where you belong. Smoke them tomorrow.

    Gail

    • Hi Kimmy

      So proud of you and so much fun to follow your great play! Finally got to see you on TV good putt! We enjoy so much reading your updates on the journey you are on. Keep up the good play and GOOD LUCK! Joe& Sharon

Leave a Reply

