two.thousand.fourteen

Welcome to 2014 everyone!  I hope everyone had a fun and successful time ringing in the New Year and are now into your third week of your “new life” with whatever resolution you came up with.  Whether it be losing weight or taking more time for yourself, I’m actually a big proponent of New Year’s Resolutions.  There is something special about turning the calendar to a new year that sometimes gives you that little extra spark that you need to make a change.  Or, perhaps it is the fact that there isn’t a holiday centered around overeating for at least a few more months.  Probably a combination of both.  When I was in college, my friend and I would often come up with different resolutions or “challenges” that we would do to better ourselves and our golf games.  In my last semester, we made a plan to work up to a 4 minute abdominal plank (feet and elbows on the floor holding yourself like a bridge).  Starting at a minute and a half, we added five seconds every day; and I mean EVERY day.  I vividly remember walking 36 holes in Phoenix and doing a 3 minute plank that night at our host house.  After about 7 weeks, we finally completed our goal.  A solid, sturdy, 4-minute plank. No butts in the air! 🙂  There wasn’t really a reason or motive for doing it besides the sheer satisfaction of proving to ourselves that we could. There is possibly no greater feeling.

With that being said, I have started a new challenge for this year: NoSweets2014!  Anybody that knows me well knows that I have the biggest sweet tooth.  I think its genetic, but nonetheless I have challenged myself to eating no sweets for one full calendar year.  Now, if you really know me, you know that I now have a calendar in my room and I will be checking off the days in a nice, neat, and organized fashion.  So, what does NoSweets2014 mean?  It’s not a diet.  Let me repeat that, I am NOT on a diet.  I will still enjoy chips, bread, pasta, etc.  I’m simply going to refrain from the ice cream, cookies, cakes, brownies, and anything else that has zero nutritional value.  So what’s the goal?  The goal is to see if I notice a difference in my life on and off the golf course.  Will I be able to push myself further in the gym? Will I have more energy and stamina on the golf course? Will I even miss the sugar?  You hear so much these days about the negative affect of pop, aspartame, sugar, etc. and I want to find out for myself if I can really notice a significant change.

Now, I am sharing this for a few reasons.  First, I know for a fact that the more people I tell the more likely I am to be successful.  You all will hold me accountable!  Second, I want to hear about YOUR New Year’s resolution.  What are you doing this year to become a better person? I am always interested so please post it in the comments! Lastly, if I politely deny your world famous chocolate cake, I don’t want you to take it personally. 🙂 Cheers to 2014!

Ok, I haven’t forgotten that this is a blog about golf and my road to the LPGA.  Perhaps cutting out sweets will help me get there.  You never know.  The first part of 2014 is going to be a bit crazy for me.  I am actually going to try and Monday qualify for the first LPGA event this coming Monday (January 20) in the Bahamas.  Monday qualifiers are at nearly every LPGA event and are a one day 18 hole tournament for 2 qualifying spots. If I make it, I will spend the week there, if not I will come home Tuesday and experience my first PGA Show here in Orlando.  At the beginning of February I will play a mini-tour Sun Coast Series event at LPGA International as a final tune up before the Symetra season gets started at the end of February.  As soon as the full Symetra Tour schedule is released I will be sure to get it posted in the “Tournaments & Finish” tab.

I look forward to writing about my first Monday qualifier, and hopefully my first LPGA event, in my next blog.  I have also added the LPGA website as a link on the left hand side of the page.  Don’t forget to share your New Year’s resolution and good luck with it!

KK

Image

4 Minutes! Look at that form 😉 (Spring 2013)

Image

Practicing out at Heathrow CC.

Image

Elin came to visit!!  We took a day trip to Sea World.

Image

We also attended a Solar Bears hockey game.  I will definitely go again!

5 thoughts on “two.thousand.fourteen

  1. Good luck Kim, can’t wait to hear how you do on Monday! And good luck with the no sweets2014. Brandon is home this week and has been eating your share of sweets!

  2. good to know how you are doing. My resolution is to use up yarn and fabric I have before buying more and also lose a few pounds. I should walk the golf course with you, but to much snow and cold here. Good luck and keep us posted.

  3. Thanks for the update, Kim ! All the best to You This Year and at the Monday Qualifier (it would be Cool if You and Stoelting made it !! )

    Cheers !

    Dillon Daniels

Leave a Reply

