Innisbrook

It was a long week, a hot week, and I’m ready to move on to next week.  After a flawless opening 67, it is beyond frustrating to give all those shots back and finish even for the tournament.  It continues to baffle me how I can finish the last 8 holes of a 67 round, take a 30 minute break, and then go out and not drop a single birdie.  I know better than anyone that its the nature of the game, but as I try to further my career I need to be aware of these patterns and look for ways to change them.  For those that don’t believe golf is by far one of the most mentally challenging sport in world, they have obviously never had to play to pay their rent.

When leaving Florida this week I will remember two things.  1.) It’s hot in the summer.  Not hot in the sense that its a good day to go to the pool, hot in the sense that I would look out the window in the morning and start to sweat.  Wow.  I officially understand the concept of “snowbirds.”  2.) Bermuda is not normal grass. I’m not sure what it is, but it is definitely the ugly stepsister of the grass family.  Despite my desire to replant all the bermuda in Florida with what I call “normal grass,” I knew I had to learn to chip out of it.  I was really lucky to have a caddie with great knowledge and we spent several practice sessions around the practice green.  I hadn’t had that much of an uneasy feeling around the greens in awhile, but after a week of practice my up and down percentage was 70% for the week.  Not bad. 

My mom and I were fortunate to have a friend of a friend lend us their winter home for the week, and are staying with some more friends of friends this coming week in Richmond. I think the best advice I could give to someone thinking about coming out and trying to play is to plan ahead in order to find places to stay.  You may not know somebody in every city, but you probably have a friend or relative that does.  It takes some planning and a bit of work, but it is more than worth it in the end.  

We have a 14 hour drive ahead of us tomorrow to Richmond, VA and the last event before I finally return home.  Looking for a good tournament to end this 6 week stretch so send some positive vibes!

KK

Image

 

These squirrels are so used to being fed our group on the last day had to chase one away so the girl could hit her shot.  Pretty funny, actually. 

 

Image

 

I missed our yearly family get together (for about the 4th year in a row), so my cousins sent me this.  Too cute! Thanks girls 🙂  

8 thoughts on “Innisbrook

  1. Hi Kim,

    You may not remember me but I am Robyn Daniel’s aunt; we met during a recruiting trip at Tech in which you were our gracious host.

    I have been following your impressive career throughout your Tech years and now on the Symetra Tour. From your posts, it is clear that you are learning so much about professional competition and you have accomplished so much during the last several weeks.

    My hope is that you take time to acknowledge your growth and the achievements to date.

    Should you ever need a place to stay in Houston, we have two extra bedrooms.

    Kindest regards, Ann

    Ann Perrin annperrin@mac.com

  2. Kim, You have always been the kind of learner that a teacher loves. As you begin this journey you are teaching me so much about how this all works and at the same time you are continuing to be the kind of learner we all loved at Clark High and the kind I am sure they loved at Texas Tech. The greatest thing about these up and down days is your comments and how much you are learning. I am learning that this is what it takes to be in a profession like this. Thanks for the lessons and you go girl on this next tournament. YOU HAVE WHAT IT TAKES, I have no doubt!!!!
    Tammie

  3. Hey Kim- I love reading these blogs… you crack me up! I regularly log on to the Symetra tour website and I talk about you in every small town club house I enter with a ton of pride! I have kept up with your writing about your experiences since going pro and I know you have a special determination, skill and dedications that will help you overcome golfs many frustrations. Sending out tons of positive vibes, good luck in VA I am really proud of you.

    Keep up the good work!!

    Cousin Jay

  4. Kim,

    My name is Ryan Stewart I am the golf course superintendent here at Innisbrook, I just wanted to say thank you for the card I received from you. I am glad you loved the course and everyone enjoyed it sorry you didn’t win, I hope you guys come back again but as you say it’s too hot in August, the spring or fall would be a lot better for you.

    Anyway thanks again for the kind comments and good luck with the rest of the year.

Leave a Reply

